Posted: Apr 3, 2024

Earlier this year, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced the nominees for the 2024 Canadian Screen Awards in 156 television, film, and digital media categories. Among those nominees is a staggering 80+ nominations for CFC alumni across the film, TV, and digital media categories, with their projects appearing a 120+ times throughout the nominations.

Leading the nominations is the Crave/APTN limited series, Little Bird, by alum Jennifer Podemski, who serves as the show’s creator, writer, and producer alongside fellow alum and producer Lori Lozinski. The series scored 19 nominations, including Best Drama Series. Plus, Mark Montefiore’s production company, New Metric Media, earned 19 nominations for their popular comedy series including Letterkenny, Bria Mack Gets a Life, Shorsey, and Children Ruin Everything.

Other highlights include a nomination for Norman Jewison Film Program alum Zarrar Kahn who has been nominated for the John Dunning Best First Feature Award for his work in the film In Flames. The John Dunning Best First Feature Award is a special Canadian film award, presented to the year’s best feature film by a first-time film director. Other nominations include Kanaval, developed and supported through Netflix Content Accelerator, and Something You Said Last Night supported through Netflix/CFC Global Accelerator.

The 2024 Canadian Screen Awards will be presented over four days during Canadian Screen Week, including the 2Canadian Screen Awards broadcast show, hosted by Mae Martin, airing on Friday, May 31 at 8 PM (9 AT, 9:30 NT) on CBC and CBC Gem. 

CFC alumni nominees include:


Best Motion Picture

  • Infinity Pool: Christina Piovesan (producer)

Achievement in Direction

  • Henri Pardo – Kanaval. Developed and supported through Netflix Content Accelerator

Achievement in Music – Original Score

  • Suad BushnaqQueen Tut

Achievement in Music – Original Song

  • Rebecca Everett – Mother of All Shows – “Mothers and Daughters, Daughters and Moms”
  • Suad Bushnaq, Omar El-DeebQueen Tut  – “Chez Habibi (Kul illi Batmannah)”
  • Ashley Jane, Suad BushnaqQueen Tut – “I Won’t Break”

Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary

  • Rich WilliamsonCynara

Best Live Action Short Drama

  • MotherlandJasmin Mozaffari, Caitlin Grabham, Priscilla Galvez

John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award

  • In FlamesZarrar Kahn
  • KanavalHenri Pardo
  • Something You Said Last NightLuis De Filippis


Best Drama Series

  • Essex County: Christina Piovesan
  • Little Bird: Jennifer Podemski, Zoe Hopkins, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, Lori Lozinski
  • Plan B: Lynne Kamm
  • Slasher: Ripper: Ian Carpenter, Aaron Martin, Christina Jennings
  • Transplant: Joseph Kay, Rachel Langer

Best Comedy Series

  • Bria Mack Gets A Life: Mark Montefiore
  • Letterkenny: Mark Montefiore
  • Son of a Critch: Andrew Barnsley

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series

  • Canada’s Drag Race: Canada vs. The World: Betty Orr

Best Live Entertainment

  • The Legacy Awards 2023: Ian Steaman, Mazin Elsadig

Donald Britain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program Sponsor | Rogers

  • Category: Woman: Howard Fraiberg
  • Coming Home | Wanna Icipus Kupi: Jennifer Podemski
  • Inside the Statue Wars: Michael Kot

Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series

  • Indspire Awards 2023: Jennifer Podemski

Best Documentary Program

  • The Cowichan Sweater: Our Knitted Legacy: Mary Galloway

Best Animated Program or Series

  • Interstellar Ella: Matt Schiller
  • Pinecone & Pony: Christina Piovesan

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series

  • The Hardy Boys: Susan Alexander
  • Home Sweet Rome: Christina Piovesan, JP Larocque, Alyson Richards
  • Macy Murdoch: Christina Jennings, Jennifer Kassabian, Robina Lord-Stafford
  • The Malory Towers Christmas: Bruce McDonald

Best Variety or Entertainment Special

  • Jann: Alone for the Holidays: Andrew Barnsley


Best Direction, TV Movie

  • Bad Behind Bars: Jodi Arias: Rama Rau

Best Direction, Drama Series

  • Little Bird – Bineshi Kwe: Zoe Hopkins
  • Little Bird – Love is all Around: Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
  • SurrealEstate – Trust The Process: Danishka Esterhazy

Best Direction, Documentary Program

  • Indspire Awards 2023: Jennifer Podemski

Best Direction, Documentary Series

  • Black Community Mixtapes: Alison Duke, Ngardy Conteh George

Best Writing, Drama Series

  • Pretty Hard Cases – Always A Bridesmaid: Tassie Cameron, Sherry White
  • Transplant – Who Is Mags?: Joseph Kay, Rachel Langer

Best Writing, Documentary

  • Black Community MixtapesToronto Carnival: Alison Duke

Barbara Sears Award for Best Visual Research

  • Little Bird: Jennifer Podemski

Best Writing, Pre-School

  • Mittens & Pants – Bunny Family Wedding:  Katherine Sandford

Best Photography, Documentary or Factual

  • Charlotte’s Castle: Mark Caswell

Best Picture Editing, Drama

  • Essex County – Episode 103: Dev Singh, Chris Mutton

Best Picture Editing, Documentary

  • Black Life: Untold Stories – Haven, But No Heaven: Ashley Gilmour

Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition

  • The Big Bake – Creepy Carnival: Baun Mah

Best Picture Editing, Comedy

  • Bria Mack Gets A Life – Bria Mack Gets a Job: Gloria Tong
  • Sort Of – Sort Of Hospital Again: Maureen Grant, CCE

Best Picture editing, Children’s or Youth

  • I Woke Up A Vampire – I Woke Up A Vampire: Victor CH Fan
  • Popularity Papers – New School, New Start: Mike Reisacher

Best Original Music, Animation

  • Thomas & Friends: All Engines Go – The Mystery of Lookout Mountain: Erica Procunier

Best Original Music, Comedy

  • Faith Heist: A Christmas Caper: Todor Kobakov

Best Original Music, Documentary

  • The Climate Baby Dilemma: Ben Fox
  • Last of the Right Whales: Deanna H. Choi

Best Original Music – Original Song

  • Mittens & Pants – Superpants – “Mittens & Pants Theme”: Antonio Naranjo

Best Ensemble Performance, Drama

  • Essex County: Alexandra Ordolis
  • Robyn Hood: Emily Piggford

Best Ensemble Performance, Comedy

  • Shelved: Varun Saranga

Best Supporting Performer, Comedy

  • Sort Of: Supinder Wraich


Best Web Program or Series, Fiction

  • The Drop: Elizabeth Yake
  • How to Fail as a Popstar: Laura Perlmutter, Jennifer Kawaja
  • I Hate People, People Hate Me: Lauren Corber

Best Picture Editing, Web Program or Series

  • How To Fail As A PopstarTiffany Beaudin, Pauline Decroix
  • I Hate People, People Hate Me – Bad-Existing: Maureen Grant, CCE
  • Less Than Kosher – The Synagogue Viv Hasn’t Been to in 15 Years: Ben Lee Allan

Best Immersive Experience – Fiction

  • Survivorman VR: Johnny Kalangis

Share this post: